BrandPost: 5-Minute Breakdown: Wi-Fi 6

BrandPost: 5-Minute Breakdown: Wi-Fi 6

The Wi-Fi Alliance has announced the standard for the next-generation of Wi-Fi and that standard is Wi-Fi 6.

The first thing that people are thrown off by is the newer, uncommon naming convention. From basic consumers to techies alike, we are used to the 802.11 technology designations. I’m not saying the naming didn’t exist before, but the 802.11 standards designation was much more commonly used. To break it down simply, here is what Wi-Fi 6 translates to along with other well-known technologies:

  • Wi-Fi 6→ 802.11ax
  • Wi-Fi 5→ 802.11ac
  • Wi-Fi 4→ 802.11n
  • Wi-Fi 3→ 802.11g
  • Wi-Fi 2→ 802.11a
  • Wi-Fi 1→ 802.11b

That being said, you can treat the Wi-Fi 6 designation as a generation number of sorts.

To read this article in full, please click here

div#stuning-header .dfd-stuning-header-bg-container {background-image: url(;background-size: initial;background-position: top center;background-attachment: initial;background-repeat: no-repeat;}#stuning-header {min-height: 650px;}